Sesame Care HRT Review
Sesame Care is the outlier in this set: a doctor marketplace that prescribes FDA-approved generic hormones, filled at your own pharmacy on your insurance, from clinicians it actually names, with prices shown before you book. That combination earns an upper-mid score and a B transparency grade. What holds it back from the top: it is a general marketplace where menopause is one of 120+ services, so there is no menopause-specialist continuity, care depth varies, the menopause all-in is not a single published number, and a minority of reviews flag surprise charges and thin post-visit messaging. Winona scores higher at 8.4 on its $0-consult model and huge HRT-specific review base. New to us, so Provisional.
Summarize this review with
What will you pay?
Paid links: we may earn a commission. How we make money. Confirm current prices and availability before signing up.
First payment: $99-$125 + medication · Reported
Video visit plus the pharmacy price or insurance copay
Full refund if you cancel at least 3 hours before your first visit; no refund after the first month once a visit has occurred [Verified July 2026]
Which treatments do they offer?
Who is it a fit for?
Women who want FDA-approved (not compounded) generic HRT they can run through insurance at their own pharmacy, from a named clinician, with prices visible up front, and who are fine seeing whichever clinician they book rather than a dedicated menopause specialist.
Who should compare alternatives?
Women who want a single all-inclusive monthly price, a dedicated menopause specialist with continuity, compounded custom-dose formulations, or a menopause-specific review track record.
What did we verify, and what are the safety checks?
How we verified Sesame Care
Last pass July 7, 2026 · Method: Direct fetch of sesamecare.com/service/menopause-treatment (formulary, named clinicians, FDA-approved generics, cancellation policy) and sesamecare.com/join/membership (Sesame Plus $10.99/mo or $99/year, $10 off visits, free annual lab). The menopause and estradiol pages did not display per-visit or generic drug prices to our pass, so those figures are [Reported]. Trustpilot and BBB cross-referenced but relevance-gated (platform-wide).
Confirmed on official sources
- FDA-approved generic hormones (estradiol, estrogen-progestin, progesterone, DHEA/prasterone) sent to your own pharmacy
- Non-hormonal options (gabapentin, clonidine, SSRIs, ospemifene)
- Formats: pill, patch, gel, vaginal insert, cream
- Named clinicians with credentials (60+ with photos and reviews)
- Sesame Plus $10.99/mo or $99/year, $10 off visits, one free lab per year
- No insurance billed by Sesame; HSA/FSA eligible; published cancellation and refund policy
- Company: Sesame, founded 2019, New York
Still resting on third-party reports
- Exact menopause video visit price (about $99 to $125 reported; not shown to our pass)
- Exact cash price of generic estradiol at the pharmacy
- The reported $99/mo menopause subscription plan (search-sourced, not read off the funnel)
- A menopause-line-specific independent rating (platform reviews are relevance-gated)
We verify against the provider's own public pages without signing up. When a provider blocks crawlers or hides pricing behind intake, we say so. Not disclosed is a finding, and it feeds the Transparency Grade. Full methodology: editorial policy.
Why Transparency Grade B?
Transparency
Tap for the evidence
Why grade B
- Publishes upfront, public per-visit pricing before intake (the marketplace's whole model) and names its clinicians with credentials, two of the strongest disclosure signals in the set [Verified July 2026]
- Passes four grade criteria cleanly: named clinicians, a published cancellation and refund policy, corporate disclosure (Sesame, founded 2019, New York), and accessible third-party reviews [Verified July 2026]
- A B and not an A because the menopause all-in is not one clean pre-intake number: the visit price is upfront but the generic medication cost varies by pharmacy and insurance [Verified July 2026]
- Trustpilot 4.7 and BBB A+ exist and are reachable but are platform-wide across 120+ services, not menopause-specific, so we apply no rating credit or penalty (the relevance gate) [Reported]
- A minority of reviews describe surprise recurring charges: noted as an accountability caveat, not severe or systemic enough to cap the grade given the BBB A+ accreditation and large positive base [Reported]
- Publishes upfront, public per-visit pricing before intake (the marketplace's whole model) and names its clinicians with credentials, two of the strongest disclosure signals in the set [Verified July 2026]
- Passes four grade criteria cleanly: named clinicians, a published cancellation and refund policy, corporate disclosure (Sesame, founded 2019, New York), and accessible third-party reviews [Verified July 2026]
- A B and not an A because the menopause all-in is not one clean pre-intake number: the visit price is upfront but the generic medication cost varies by pharmacy and insurance [Verified July 2026]
- Trustpilot 4.7 and BBB A+ exist and are reachable but are platform-wide across 120+ services, not menopause-specific, so we apply no rating credit or penalty (the relevance gate) [Reported]
- A minority of reviews describe surprise recurring charges: noted as an accountability caveat, not severe or systemic enough to cap the grade given the BBB A+ accreditation and large positive base [Reported]
Safety & legitimacy
The trust signals on Sesame Care
Six signals we check on every HRTreview. “Not disclosed” is itself a finding. It feeds the Transparency Grade.
Prescriber type
Independent, named clinicians (MD and NP, 60+ listed with credentials, photos, and patient reviews) booked per visit; you see whichever clinician you choose rather than a dedicated menopause specialist [Verified July 2026]
Lab work
Not required to prescribe; lab tests are available to order, and Sesame Plus includes one free lab per year ($65 value, for example testosterone, TSH, lipid panel) [Verified July 2026]
HIPAA disclosure
Not independently assessed this pass. Check the privacy policy before intake
Support channels
Not catalogued this pass
Cancellation
Full refund if you cancel at least 3 hours before your first visit; no refund after the first month once a visit has occurred [Verified July 2026]
Medication status
FDA-approved brand medications
What changes the full treatment bill?
Quick facts
Published entry price
$99 per visit + medication
Consult fee
About $99 to $125 per menopause video visit [Reported; not displayed in our July verification pass]. Exact clinician pricing is shown at booking; medication is separate. Optional Sesame Plus is $10.99/mo or $99/year with $10 off visits [Verified July 2026]. A separate reported menopause subscription price was not verified and is not used as our price anchor.
States
All 50 states [Reported]
Insurance
Not accepted (cash pay)
Shipping
Prescriptions go to your own pharmacy; medication cost varies by pharmacy and insurance [Verified July 2026]
Cancellation
Full refund if you cancel at least 3 hours before your first visit; no refund after the first month once a visit has occurred [Verified July 2026]
The math
How much Sesame Care costs per month, and over the first year
We do not publish a single first-year figure for Sesame because its cheapest realistic path has two variable parts we could not verify this pass: a menopause video visit (about $99 to $125 [Reported]) plus generic estradiol filled at your own pharmacy (cheap, often a low copay on insurance, but the exact cash price was not shown to us). Optional Sesame Plus is $10.99/mo or $99/year [Verified]. The generic-at-your-pharmacy route is plausibly the cheapest cash HRT in this set, but we do not claim it as verified.
| Provider | Entry | Year-1 est. | Score | Transparency |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sesame Care (reviewed) | $99 per visit + medication | n/a | 7.6/10 | B |
| Winona | $54 per 28 days | $1,161 | 8.4/10 | B |
| Gala Health | $69/mo | $828 | 7.2/10 | C |
| Wisp | $99 per visit + medication | n/a | 7.3/10 | B |
Year-1 totals are our documented estimates from pricing as of July 7, 2026; each provider's assumption set is on its review page. Insurance, HSA/FSA, and promo pricing excluded. “n/a” means no defensible estimate exists yet. Full price breakdown: what HRT really costs.
What is our full verdict on Sesame Care?
A healthcare marketplace, not a subscription brand. You book a menopause or perimenopause video visit with an independent, named clinician and, if appropriate, get a prescription for FDA-approved generic hormones (estradiol, estrogen-progestin, progesterone, DHEA/prasterone) sent to your own pharmacy. These FDA-approved generics can be filled at your own pharmacy using eligible insurance coverage. Winona offers a different model with both compounded treatments and an FDA-approved estradiol patch. Sesame does not bill insurance itself; it publishes upfront per-visit prices (its whole model) and offers an optional Sesame Plus membership at $10.99/mo or $99/year that discounts visits and includes one free lab per year. Non-hormonal options (gabapentin, SSRIs, ospemifene) are available too. The trade-offs: it is a general marketplace where menopause is one of 120+ services, so you get whichever clinician you book rather than a dedicated menopause specialist, care continuity varies, and a minority of reviews describe surprise recurring charges and no easy way to message your provider after a visit. New to us, so it carries a Provisional badge.


Where it wins
- FDA-approved generic hormones (estradiol/Estrace, estrogen-progestin, progesterone/Prometrium, DHEA/Intrarosa), filled at your own pharmacy on your insurance, a genuine plus over the compounded, not-FDA-approved products in this set [Verified July 2026, sesamecare.com]
- Clinicians are named with credentials: 60+ providers listed with photos, degrees (MD, NP), and patient reviews [Verified July 2026]
- Upfront, public per-visit pricing before you book, plus an optional Sesame Plus membership at $10.99/mo or $99/year ($10 off visits, one free lab per year worth $65) [Verified July 2026, sesamecare.com/join/membership]
- Multiple FDA-approved formats (pill, patch, gel, vaginal insert, cream) plus non-hormonal options (gabapentin, SSRIs, ospemifene) for women who cannot take hormones [Verified July 2026]
- Same-day video visits, HSA/FSA eligible, a published refund and cancellation policy, and an established company (founded 2019, New York) with accessible third-party reviews [Verified July 2026]
Where it lags
- A general marketplace, not a menopause specialist: menopause is one of 120+ services and you see whichever clinician you book, so there is no dedicated menopause-specialist continuity and care depth varies [Verified July 2026]
- The menopause all-in is not a single published number: the visit price is upfront but the generic medication cost varies by pharmacy and insurance, so you cannot compute a clean total before intake [Verified July 2026]
- The menopause video visit price (about $99 to $125) is a [Reported] figure: the menopause landing and the estradiol page did not display a dollar amount to our verification pass [Reported]
- A minority of reviews describe surprise recurring charges and no easy way to message your provider after a visit [Reported, BBB customer reviews]
- Its Trustpilot (4.7) and BBB (A+) are platform-wide across all 120+ services, not menopause-specific, so we apply no rating credit or penalty (the relevance gate) [Reported]
The value pick for FDA-approved HRT: named clinicians, generic estradiol and progesterone you can fill on your own insurance, and prices shown before you book, from an established marketplace. The catch is that it is a marketplace, so menopause is one of 120+ services, you get whichever clinician you book, and the all-in cost depends on your pharmacy. If you want FDA-approved hormones cheaply and do not need a dedicated specialist, Sesame is hard to beat. If you want one flat number and a menopause-specific track record, Winona is the higher-scored option at 8.4.
Change log: what we've corrected on this review
- July 7, 2026Added to the women's wing at 7.6 (rank 2), Transparency B: the only provider here that prescribes FDA-approved generic hormones (filled at your own pharmacy on insurance) from named, credentialed clinicians, with upfront public pricing, earning the highest strictly-evidenced base in the set. Held below Winona (8.4) by the marketplace trade-offs: menopause is one of 120+ services, no specialist continuity, care depth varies, no menopause-specific review base, and a minority of surprise-charge complaints. Provisional (new to us, no menopause-line review base). New Katalys affiliate partner; affiliate status does not move the score.
What do customers report?
Real customer feedback
What reviewers say about Sesame Care
Third-party signals only. We never write or source testimonials. “Not surfaced” means no public base was found in our verification pass.
Trustpilot
Not surfaced
No public profile found
BBB
Not surfaced
No public profile found
Not surfaced
No substantive threads found
Provider claim
None disclosed
Our reading
Not menopause-specific. Sesame carries a Trustpilot 4.7/5 across 10,000+ reviews and a BBB A+ (accredited), but both are platform-wide across its 120+ medical services, not its menopause line, so we apply no rating credit or penalty (the relevance gate we also use for Gala and MangoRx). We could not verify a menopause-line-specific rating. The recurring themes in the minority of negative reviews: surprise recurring charges and no easy way to message your provider after a visit. Positive reviews cite low prices, an easy process, and responsive clinicians.
FAQ
Common questions about Sesame Care
Are Sesame Care's menopause hormones FDA-approved?
Yes. Sesame clinicians prescribe FDA-approved generic hormones (generic estradiol, estrogen-progestin, progesterone, and DHEA/prasterone) sent to your own pharmacy, not compounded formulations. FDA-approved generics are reviewed for safety, efficacy, and quality; coverage depends on your plan and formulary even though Sesame's visit is cash-pay. Compare the specific treatment: Winona also offers an FDA-approved estradiol patch alongside its compounded products. See our bioidentical HRT guide for the FDA-approved-vs-compounded distinction.
Is Sesame Care legit?
Sesame Care scores 7.6/10 on our weighted methodology and carries a Transparency Grade of B (A-F scale for what it discloses before intake). Flags we track: Menopause is one of 120+ marketplace services, not a specialty: no dedicated menopause-specialist continuity, and you see whichever clinician you book [Verified July 2026] A minority of reviews describe surprise recurring charges and thin post-visit provider messaging [Reported] Trustpilot 4.7 and BBB A+ are platform-wide, not menopause-specific [Reported] The menopause visit price and generic drug cost were not shown to our verification pass; both carry [Reported] status [Reported] Facts last verified July 7, 2026.
How much does Sesame Care cost?
Published entry pricing: $99 per visit + medication. Consult fee: About $99 to $125 per menopause video visit [Reported; not displayed in our July verification pass]. Exact clinician pricing is shown at booking; medication is separate. Optional Sesame Plus is $10.99/mo or $99/year with $10 off visits [Verified July 2026]. A separate reported menopause subscription price was not verified and is not used as our price anchor.. We do not publish a single first-year figure for Sesame because its cheapest realistic path has two variable parts we could not verify this pass: a menopause video visit (about $99 to $125 [Reported]) plus generic estradiol filled at your own pharmacy (cheap, often a low copay on insurance, but the exact cash price was not shown to us). Optional Sesame Plus is $10.99/mo or $99/year [Verified]. The generic-at-your-pharmacy route is plausibly the cheapest cash HRT in this set, but we do not claim it as verified.
Does Sesame Care take insurance?
No. Sesame Care is cash-pay, with published entry pricing of $99 per visit + medication. It does not bill insurance for treatment.
How do I cancel Sesame Care?
Sesame Care's stated policy: Full refund if you cancel at least 3 hours before your first visit; no refund after the first month once a visit has occurred [Verified July 2026].
What medications does Sesame Care offer?
As of our last check: Estradiol (generic Estrace, Climara, Divigel) [Verified July 2026]; Estrogen-progestin (generic Prempro, Bijuva, Mimvey); Progesterone (generic Prometrium, Crinone); DHEA / prasterone (Intrarosa); Non-hormonal: gabapentin, clonidine, SSRIs, ospemifene.
Is Sesame Care available in my state?
All 50 states [Reported].
Does Sesame Care require lab work?
Not required to prescribe; lab tests are available to order, and Sesame Plus includes one free lab per year ($65 value, for example testosterone, TSH, lipid panel) [Verified July 2026].
Who prescribes at Sesame Care?
Independent, named clinicians (MD and NP, 60+ listed with credentials, photos, and patient reviews) booked per visit; you see whichever clinician you choose rather than a dedicated menopause specialist [Verified July 2026].
What is Sesame Care's Transparency Grade?
Sesame Care earns a B on our A-F transparency scale, which grades what a provider discloses BEFORE intake: pricing, named clinicians with credentials, a published cancellation policy, corporate disclosure, and third-party review accessibility. Key evidence: Publishes upfront, public per-visit pricing before intake (the marketplace's whole model) and names its clinicians with credentials, two of the strongest disclosure signals in the set [Verified July 2026] Passes four grade criteria cleanly: named clinicians, a published cancellation and refund policy, corporate disclosure (Sesame, founded 2019, New York), and accessible third-party reviews [Verified July 2026] A B and not an A because the menopause all-in is not one clean pre-intake number: the visit price is upfront but the generic medication cost varies by pharmacy and insurance [Verified July 2026] Trustpilot 4.7 and BBB A+ exist and are reachable but are platform-wide across 120+ services, not menopause-specific, so we apply no rating credit or penalty (the relevance gate) [Reported] A minority of reviews describe surprise recurring charges: noted as an accountability caveat, not severe or systemic enough to cap the grade given the BBB A+ accreditation and large positive base [Reported]
Which providers should you compare?
Compare providers within the same treatment category. Shared providers show the price for that treatment.
Winona: If you want one flat all-inclusive number with a $0 consult and a huge HRT-specific review base, Winona at $54 per 28 days is simpler than Sesame's per-visit-plus-pharmacy math for its entry-level compounded tablets. Winona also offers an FDA-approved estradiol patch at a higher price; compare the same treatment format.
Pick providers
4 of 4 selected (up to 4 at a time)
Menopause HRTChoose providers within this treatment category
| Provider | WinonaReview 8.4/10B | Sesame CareReview 7.6/10B | WispReview 7.3/10B | Gala HealthReview 7.2/10C |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Starting price | $54 per 28 days | $99 per visit + medication | $99 per visit + medication | $69/mo |
| Consultation fee | $0, product-only pricing [Verified July 2026] | About $99 to $125 per menopause video visit [Reported; not displayed in our July verification pass]. Exact clinician pricing is shown at booking; medication is separate. Optional Sesame Plus is $10.99/mo or $99/year with $10 off visits [Verified July 2026]. A separate reported menopause subscription price was not verified and is not used as our price anchor. | $99 Menopause Consult, including 3 months of care-team access; medication billed separately by your pharmacy [Verified July 2026] | Telehealth care included in the advertised HRT plan; no separate membership fee [Verified September 9, 2026] |
| Insurance | No, cash pay | No, cash pay | No, cash pay | No, cash pay |
| Formats | cream, oral, patch, vaginal | oral, patch, gel, vaginal, cream | oral, patch, gel, cream, vaginal | oral, patch, vaginal |
| Shipping | Free, included [Reported] | Prescriptions go to your own pharmacy; medication cost varies by pharmacy and insurance [Verified July 2026] | Prescriptions route to a local pharmacy for pickup; some products ship direct, with delivery in a couple of days [Verified July 2026] | Free, included; advertised delivery in 1–2 days [Verified September 9, 2026] |
| States | 37 states plus Puerto Rico, counted off Winona's own states page. The 48-state figure this record carried until 2026-08-16 was third-party and is 11 states too generous [Verified August 2026] | All 50 states [Reported] | All 50 states [Verified July 2026] | Most US states; eligibility is confirmed during assessment. Gala says an unsupported state will not be charged, but publishes no complete list on this landing [Verified September 9, 2026] |
| Transparency grade | B | B | B | C |
| Go to site | Get started with Winona | Get started with Sesame Care | Get started with Wisp | Get started with Gala Health |
Prices and facts use the verification dates shown in each provider review. Confirm current terms on the provider’s site. Items shown as “Not disclosed” or “Not published” are honest empty states, not omissions. Affiliate partners are marked; partnership never moves a score or a rank.
Head to head
How Sesame Care stacks up
This review is educational, not medical advice. Talk to a licensed clinician before starting, stopping or changing hormone therapy.