Wisp HRT Review
Wisp suits one specific woman very well: 40 or over, already holding pharmacy coverage she trusts, wanting FDA-approved hormones instead of compounded ones, and able to treat a $99 consult and a separate drug bill as two line items rather than one. For her this can undercut every bundled subscription in the wing on real out-of-pocket cost. Everyone else hits the same wall, which is that Wisp publishes its own fee openly and then cannot tell her what the medicine costs. The page names Dr. Shannon Chatham, DO, although we have not independently verified her license or who would prescribe for you. Confirm current eligibility and any testing requirements before paying; the age and lab-policy details below retain their July verification date. Provisional, new to us.
Summarize this review with
What will you pay?
Paid links: we may earn a commission. How we make money. Confirm current prices and availability before signing up.
First payment: $99 plus your pharmacy's price for the medication · Verified
The $99 Menopause Consult does not include hormones. Wisp sends the prescription to your local pharmacy and you pay that pharmacy separately, using insurance or the Wisp Discount Card. The all-in first month is therefore not computable from published information.
One-time consult rather than a subscription, so there is no recurring charge to cancel. A written refund policy was not surfaced in this pass [Verified July 2026]
Which treatments do they offer?
- Estradiol patch, gel and oral options; medication billed separately at your pharmacy [Verified September 9, 2026]
- Micronized progesterone (oral); medication billed separately at your pharmacy [Verified September 9, 2026]
- Medroxyprogesterone acetate (Provera, oral progestin); medication billed separately at your pharmacy [Verified September 9, 2026]
- Estradiol vaginal cream, from $20 [Verified July 2026]
- Estriol face cream, $99 [Verified July 2026]
- Non-hormonal vaginal moisturizer, from $60 [Verified July 2026]
- Adjunct (non-HRT) lines: oral minoxidil from $36, oral spironolactone from $24, topical spironolactone from $39, bimatoprost from $28, eflornithine cream from $58 [Verified July 2026]
Who is it a fit for?
Women 40 and over with pharmacy coverage worth using, who want FDA-approved rather than compounded hormones and are comfortable paying a $99 consult fee separately from the medication.
Who should compare alternatives?
Women in early perimenopause under 40, anyone who wants baseline bloodwork before starting hormones, anyone who needs a single predictable monthly number, and anyone who needs their assigned clinician's credentials independently checked before intake.
What did we verify, and what are the safety checks?
How we verified Wisp
Last pass September 9, 2026 · Method: Focused public-source check of https://hellowisp.com/products/menopause-consult on September 9, 2026: confirmed the $99 consult, separate pharmacy medication charge, three-month care access, distinct estrogen and oral progesterone/progestin routes, and the named Dr. Shannon Chatham, DO. This corrects the July shop page's ambiguous combined route wording. Other July-dated facts below were not reverified. No independent license or certification lookup, refund-policy audit or menopause-specific review audit was completed.
Confirmed on official sources
- Menopause Consult $99, including 3-month access to the care team
- Medication costs are separate and paid at a local pharmacy; insurance or the Wisp Discount Card may be applied there
- Wisp does not accept insurance for the consult; consult and treatments are HSA/FSA eligible
- Menopause care offered in all 50 states
- September 9: estradiol patch, gel and oral options; micronized progesterone and Provera oral options, with no progesterone patch listed
- Treatment decision within 72 hours; most prescriptions sent to the pharmacy within about 3 hours
- Eligibility 40+, or under 40 after surgical removal of both ovaries and uterus; estriol face cream 35+
- Phone or video call required for patients in AR, DE, DC, KS, MS, NM, RI, VT and WV
- Estradiol vaginal cream from $20, estriol face cream $99, non-hormonal vaginal moisturizer from $60
- Patient dashboard with HIPAA-aligned secure messaging
Still resting on third-party reports
- The actual pharmacy cost of a typical estrogen plus progesterone regimen
- Whether and at what price the consult must be repeated after the 3-month care window
- Independent license and menopause-certification verification for Dr. Shannon Chatham, DO; the clinician assigned to an individual patient
- Leadership, corporate entity and written cancellation or refund policy
- Any menopause-specific independent rating
We verify against the provider's own public pages without signing up. When a provider blocks crawlers or hides pricing behind intake, we say so. Not disclosed is a finding, and it feeds the Transparency Grade. Full methodology: editorial policy.
Why Transparency Grade B?
Transparency
Tap for the evidence
Why grade B
- Passes the criterion this site weights most: the $99 consult price and every product price sit openly on the shop page with no quiz, email capture or intake gate in front of them [Verified July 2026]
- Discloses in plain language that medication costs are extra and billed by your pharmacy, and does not bury it after checkout [Verified July 2026]
- Fails all-in cost computability: because the drug is dispensed by a third-party pharmacy, no total monthly cost is derivable from published information [Verified July 2026]
- Dr. Shannon Chatham, DO is named on the menopause consult page; independent license and menopause-certification checks remain outstanding [Verified September 9, 2026]
- Leadership, corporate entity and a written cancellation or refund policy were not surfaced in this pass and are treated as unverified, not as confirmed absent [Verified July 2026, not fetched]
- Site is fully crawlable and its FAQ is published as structured data, so pricing and eligibility claims are machine-checkable [Verified July 2026]
- Passes the criterion this site weights most: the $99 consult price and every product price sit openly on the shop page with no quiz, email capture or intake gate in front of them [Verified July 2026]
- Discloses in plain language that medication costs are extra and billed by your pharmacy, and does not bury it after checkout [Verified July 2026]
- Fails all-in cost computability: because the drug is dispensed by a third-party pharmacy, no total monthly cost is derivable from published information [Verified July 2026]
- Dr. Shannon Chatham, DO is named on the menopause consult page; independent license and menopause-certification checks remain outstanding [Verified September 9, 2026]
- Leadership, corporate entity and a written cancellation or refund policy were not surfaced in this pass and are treated as unverified, not as confirmed absent [Verified July 2026, not fetched]
- Site is fully crawlable and its FAQ is published as structured data, so pricing and eligibility claims are machine-checkable [Verified July 2026]
Safety & legitimacy
The trust signals on Wisp
Six signals we check on every HRTreview. “Not disclosed” is itself a finding. It feeds the Transparency Grade.
Prescriber type
Dr. Shannon Chatham, DO is named in the Wisp Care Team section of its menopause consult page. License, menopause certification and assignment to a specific patient were not independently verified [Verified September 9, 2026]
Lab work
None required and none offered. Prescribing rests on self-reported history, current medications, allergies and, for some hormonal treatments, a blood pressure reading from the past year and the date of your last period [Verified July 2026]
HIPAA disclosure
Not independently assessed this pass. Check the privacy policy before intake
Support channels
Not catalogued this pass
Cancellation
One-time consult rather than a subscription, so there is no recurring charge to cancel. A written refund policy was not surfaced in this pass [Verified July 2026]
Medication status
FDA-approved brand medications
What changes the full treatment bill?
Quick facts
Published entry price
$99 per visit + medication
Consult fee
$99 Menopause Consult, including 3 months of care-team access; medication billed separately by your pharmacy [Verified July 2026]
States
All 50 states [Verified July 2026]
Insurance
Not accepted (cash pay)
Shipping
Prescriptions route to a local pharmacy for pickup; some products ship direct, with delivery in a couple of days [Verified July 2026]
Cancellation
One-time consult rather than a subscription, so there is no recurring charge to cancel. A written refund policy was not surfaced in this pass [Verified July 2026]
The math
How much Wisp costs per month, and over the first year
We do not quote a first-year total for Wisp. The $99 consult is verified and covers 3 months of care-team access, but the medication is dispensed and priced by your own pharmacy, and Wisp does not publish what a repeat consult costs after that window closes. Two of the three inputs are missing, so any annual figure would be invented. What we can say: the $99 is real and visible, and your drug cost is whatever your insurance or the Wisp Discount Card produces at the counter, which is the one line item in this wing you can actually shop.
| Provider | Entry | Year-1 est. | Score | Transparency |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Wisp (reviewed) | $99 per visit + medication | n/a | 7.3/10 | B |
| Sesame Care | $99 per visit + medication | n/a | 7.6/10 | B |
| Winona | $54 per 28 days | $1,161 | 8.4/10 | B |
| Gala Health | $69/mo | $828 | 7.2/10 | C |
Year-1 totals are our documented estimates from pricing as of September 9, 2026; each provider's assumption set is on its review page. Insurance, HSA/FSA, and promo pricing excluded. “n/a” means no defensible estimate exists yet. Full price breakdown: what HRT really costs.
What is our full verdict on Wisp?
The $99 on Wisp's menopause page buys the consult. The hormones are billed separately by your own pharmacy, and that single split decides whether Wisp is the cheapest option in this wing or an unknowable one. Wisp sends the prescription to the counter where you already fill everything else, so your insurance or the Wisp Discount Card sets the drug price and Wisp never touches it. What the $99 does cover: a clinician decision within 72 hours, 3 months of care-team access, estradiol patches, gel or oral medication, plus oral micronized progesterone or a separate oral progestin option, and eligibility in all 50 states. Your actual monthly spend is the one number nobody can hand you, Wisp included, because a third party sets it. The menopause consult page now names Dr. Shannon Chatham, DO. That is a public clinician disclosure; we have not independently checked her license or confirmed which clinician would handle a particular prescription. Our earlier check found no baseline labs required or offered; that policy was not reverified in this focused treatment-route check. Eligibility starts at 40, or younger only after surgical removal of both ovaries and uterus. Provisional: new to us, with no menopause-specific review base.


Where it wins
- The consult page separately lists estradiol patches, gel and oral options; micronized progesterone and Provera are listed as oral options. Provera is a progestin, not micronized progesterone [Verified September 9, 2026, hellowisp.com/products/menopause-consult]
- Prescriptions fill at your own local pharmacy, so your insurance or the Wisp Discount Card can be applied to the medication cost, with the medication charge set by that pharmacy [Verified July 2026]
- Flat $99 Menopause Consult published openly with no intake gate, and it includes 3 months of access to the care team [Verified July 2026]
- Available in all 50 states [Verified July 2026]
- Consult and prescribed treatments are HSA/FSA eligible [Verified July 2026]
- A single consult with no subscription attached, so there is no recurring charge to cancel [Verified July 2026]
- Estradiol vaginal cream from $20/mo for local symptoms, with a looser eligibility gate than the systemic line [Verified July 2026]
- Broad adjunct menu on the same account: hair loss (oral minoxidil from $36, spironolactone from $24), skincare, sleep and sexual health [Verified July 2026]
Where it lags
- The $99 headline is a consult fee, not a treatment price. Medication is billed separately by your pharmacy and Wisp publishes no estimate, so your true monthly cost cannot be computed before you buy [Verified July 2026]
- No baseline labs required and no lab testing offered before prescribing systemic hormones. [Verified July 2026, absence]
- The consult page names Dr. Shannon Chatham, DO, but we have not independently verified her license, a menopause certification or the identity of the clinician assigned to each patient [Verified September 9, 2026, public-page disclosure only]
- The published turnaround commitment is 72 hours for a treatment decision, slower than the sub-48-hour standard elsewhere in the wing, even though the site says most prescriptions reach the pharmacy within 3 hours [Verified July 2026]
- Wisp does not accept insurance for the consult itself, only for the medication at the pharmacy counter [Verified July 2026]
- Age-gated at 40 or older, or under 40 only after surgical removal of both ovaries and uterus, which excludes most early perimenopause [Verified July 2026]
- What happens after the 3-month care-team window is not priced anywhere, so ongoing annual cost is unknown [Verified July 2026, absence]
- Wisp's large public review base covers its birth control and sexual health lines, not menopause, so it earns no rating credit or penalty here [Reported]
Nothing here is hidden and you still cannot budget for it. That is the Wisp problem in one sentence. The pharmacy routing is a real advantage over the mail-order model that dominates this wing, and the FDA-approved formulary is a real advantage over Winona's compounded line. Against that: no baseline labs before systemic hormone therapy, which is the one we weigh most heavily, and an assigned prescriber whose identity we have not confirmed. Its public menopause page now names Dr. Shannon Chatham, DO, which corrects our earlier no-named-clinician finding. If your plan covers estradiol and micronized progesterone well, price it out before dismissing this, because the answer can beat providers ranked above it. If you want one number covering the care and the drugs together, Winona bundles it all at $54 per 28 days.
Change log: what we've corrected on this review
- September 9, 2026Separated the consult formulary into estradiol patch, gel and oral routes, oral micronized progesterone, and the oral progestin Provera. Removed wording that could imply progesterone patches. Added Dr. Shannon Chatham, DO from the official consult page and removed the obsolete no-named-clinician claims. Reconfirmed the $99 consult and separate pharmacy medication charge. Score, rank and Transparency Grade remain unchanged pending a methodology review; this was not an independent credential check.
- July 24, 2026Added to the women's wing at 7.3 (rank 5 of 8), Transparency B. Wisp discloses its own pricing better than anything else below rank 3, publishing a flat $99 consult with no intake gate, and it is the only provider here dispensing FDA-approved hormones through your local pharmacy where insurance applies. First drafted at the wing floor (6.8, rank 8) on the reasoning that the $99 excludes the medication and no labs are required before systemic hormones. Recomputing the evidence overruled that: Wisp scores a strict 4.6, the third-strongest floor in the wing, against Gala 2.8, Hers 2.7, Telos 2.5 and Inner Balance 1.4, so floor placement would have ranked a 4.6-evidence provider below a 1.4. Held below Hers (7.4) because Hers's $79 includes the hormones. Ranks 6 through 8 each shifted down one. Provisional; four disclosure criteria and the entire review picture are unverified this pass, so re-rank after a deeper crawl. New Katalys affiliate partner; the evidence moved it up, not the partnership.
What do customers report?
Real customer feedback
What reviewers say about Wisp
Third-party signals only. We never write or source testimonials. “Not surfaced” means no public base was found in our verification pass.
Trustpilot
Not surfaced
No public profile found
BBB
Not surfaced
No public profile found
Not surfaced
No substantive threads found
Provider claim
None disclosed
Our reading
Not surfaced for the menopause line. Wisp carries a substantial public review base, but it reflects the birth control, STI and sexual health products that make up most of its business, not the menopause line. Under our relevance gate a platform-wide rating earns neither credit nor penalty, so Wisp receives no reputation adjustment in either direction. 'Not surfaced' here means we found no menopause-specific rating, not that we found a bad one.
FAQ
Common questions about Wisp
Is Wisp legit?
Wisp scores 7.3/10 on our weighted methodology and carries a Transparency Grade of B (A-F scale for what it discloses before intake). Flags we track: The $99 headline buys a consult, not treatment; the medication cost is real, separate and unpublished [Verified July 2026] No baseline labs required or offered before systemic hormone prescribing [Verified July 2026, absence] The public page names Dr. Shannon Chatham, DO; we have not independently verified the stated menopause expertise or the clinician assigned to a particular patient [Verified September 9, 2026] Cost beyond the first 3 months is not published anywhere [Verified July 2026, absence] Facts last verified September 9, 2026.
How much does Wisp cost?
Published entry pricing: $99 per visit + medication. Consult fee: $99 Menopause Consult, including 3 months of care-team access; medication billed separately by your pharmacy [Verified July 2026]. We do not quote a first-year total for Wisp. The $99 consult is verified and covers 3 months of care-team access, but the medication is dispensed and priced by your own pharmacy, and Wisp does not publish what a repeat consult costs after that window closes. Two of the three inputs are missing, so any annual figure would be invented. What we can say: the $99 is real and visible, and your drug cost is whatever your insurance or the Wisp Discount Card produces at the counter, which is the one line item in this wing you can actually shop.
Does Wisp take insurance?
No. Wisp is cash-pay, with published entry pricing of $99 per visit + medication. It does not bill insurance for treatment.
How do I cancel Wisp?
Wisp's stated policy: One-time consult rather than a subscription, so there is no recurring charge to cancel. A written refund policy was not surfaced in this pass [Verified July 2026].
What medications does Wisp offer?
As of our last check: Estradiol patch, gel and oral options; medication billed separately at your pharmacy [Verified September 9, 2026]; Micronized progesterone (oral); medication billed separately at your pharmacy [Verified September 9, 2026]; Medroxyprogesterone acetate (Provera, oral progestin); medication billed separately at your pharmacy [Verified September 9, 2026]; Estradiol vaginal cream, from $20 [Verified July 2026]; Estriol face cream, $99 [Verified July 2026]; Non-hormonal vaginal moisturizer, from $60 [Verified July 2026]; Adjunct (non-HRT) lines: oral minoxidil from $36, oral spironolactone from $24, topical spironolactone from $39, bimatoprost from $28, eflornithine cream from $58 [Verified July 2026].
Is Wisp available in my state?
All 50 states [Verified July 2026].
Does Wisp require lab work?
None required and none offered. Prescribing rests on self-reported history, current medications, allergies and, for some hormonal treatments, a blood pressure reading from the past year and the date of your last period [Verified July 2026].
Who prescribes at Wisp?
Dr. Shannon Chatham, DO is named in the Wisp Care Team section of its menopause consult page. License, menopause certification and assignment to a specific patient were not independently verified [Verified September 9, 2026].
What is Wisp's Transparency Grade?
Wisp earns a B on our A-F transparency scale, which grades what a provider discloses BEFORE intake: pricing, named clinicians with credentials, a published cancellation policy, corporate disclosure, and third-party review accessibility. Key evidence: Passes the criterion this site weights most: the $99 consult price and every product price sit openly on the shop page with no quiz, email capture or intake gate in front of them [Verified July 2026] Discloses in plain language that medication costs are extra and billed by your pharmacy, and does not bury it after checkout [Verified July 2026] Fails all-in cost computability: because the drug is dispensed by a third-party pharmacy, no total monthly cost is derivable from published information [Verified July 2026] Dr. Shannon Chatham, DO is named on the menopause consult page; independent license and menopause-certification checks remain outstanding [Verified September 9, 2026] Leadership, corporate entity and a written cancellation or refund policy were not surfaced in this pass and are treated as unverified, not as confirmed absent [Verified July 2026, not fetched] Site is fully crawlable and its FAQ is published as structured data, so pricing and eligibility claims are machine-checkable [Verified July 2026]
Which providers should you compare?
Compare providers within the same treatment category. Shared providers show the price for that treatment.
Winona: If you want one number that covers the hormones and the care together, Winona bundles both from $54 per 28 days, where Wisp charges $99 for the consult alone and leaves the drug cost to your pharmacy.
Pick providers
4 of 4 selected (up to 4 at a time)
Menopause HRTChoose providers within this treatment category
| Provider | WinonaReview 8.4/10B | Sesame CareReview 7.6/10B | WispReview 7.3/10B | Gala HealthReview 7.2/10C |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Starting price | $54 per 28 days | $99 per visit + medication | $99 per visit + medication | $69/mo |
| Consultation fee | $0, product-only pricing [Verified July 2026] | About $99 to $125 per menopause video visit [Reported; not displayed in our July verification pass]. Exact clinician pricing is shown at booking; medication is separate. Optional Sesame Plus is $10.99/mo or $99/year with $10 off visits [Verified July 2026]. A separate reported menopause subscription price was not verified and is not used as our price anchor. | $99 Menopause Consult, including 3 months of care-team access; medication billed separately by your pharmacy [Verified July 2026] | Telehealth care included in the advertised HRT plan; no separate membership fee [Verified September 9, 2026] |
| Insurance | No, cash pay | No, cash pay | No, cash pay | No, cash pay |
| Formats | cream, oral, patch, vaginal | oral, patch, gel, vaginal, cream | oral, patch, gel, cream, vaginal | oral, patch, vaginal |
| Shipping | Free, included [Reported] | Prescriptions go to your own pharmacy; medication cost varies by pharmacy and insurance [Verified July 2026] | Prescriptions route to a local pharmacy for pickup; some products ship direct, with delivery in a couple of days [Verified July 2026] | Free, included; advertised delivery in 1–2 days [Verified September 9, 2026] |
| States | 37 states plus Puerto Rico, counted off Winona's own states page. The 48-state figure this record carried until 2026-08-16 was third-party and is 11 states too generous [Verified August 2026] | All 50 states [Reported] | All 50 states [Verified July 2026] | Most US states; eligibility is confirmed during assessment. Gala says an unsupported state will not be charged, but publishes no complete list on this landing [Verified September 9, 2026] |
| Transparency grade | B | B | B | C |
| Go to site | Get started with Winona | Get started with Sesame Care | Get started with Wisp | Get started with Gala Health |
Prices and facts use the verification dates shown in each provider review. Confirm current terms on the provider’s site. Items shown as “Not disclosed” or “Not published” are honest empty states, not omissions. Affiliate partners are marked; partnership never moves a score or a rank.
This review is educational, not medical advice. Talk to a licensed clinician before starting, stopping or changing hormone therapy.