← All provider reviews
Winona logoMenopause HRTGrade B8.4/10

Winona HRT Review

Winona publishes prices by product, including tablets from $54 and patches from $149 per 28-day billing cycle. Consults and shipping are included; another prescribed product can add to the bill. Its official formulary identifies the estradiol patch as FDA-approved and its body creams as compounded. Care is text-based. Confirm the product, refill cycle and total before ordering.

Summarize this review with

What will you pay?

Paid links: we may earn a commission. How we make money. Confirm current prices and availability before signing up.

$54 per 28 days

First payment: From $54 · Verified

Medication, consults, follow-ups, and shipping included

Cancellation and commitment

Cancel a subscription any time in account settings, or pause it for 30, 60 or 90 days. An individual order can be cancelled for a full refund only inside the 24-hour processing window; after that it cannot be cancelled, refunded or returned [Verified August 2026, FAQ]

See the full cost breakdown →

Which treatments do they offer?

Who is it a fit for?

Women who want compounded bioidentical HRT with zero consult fees, published product pricing, and unlimited text follow-ups.

Who should compare alternatives?

Women who need video visits, testosterone, or insurance billing. Confirm the exact FDA-approved patch product before ordering.

What did we verify, and what are the safety checks?

How we verified Winona

Last pass September 13, 2026 · Method: Patch approval status and advertised patch price checked September 13, 2026 on the official product page and Winona formulary statement. Other facts retain their original verification dates. Prior headless pass on 2026-08-16: the product pages, the full FAQ, the physicians page, the about page and the states page. The HTTP 500 that blocked the homepage in July did not recur. Three facts this record had wrong or missing came out of it: the billing cycle, the state count and the named clinicians. Trustpilot still comes from its own profile.

Confirmed on official sources

  • Estradiol patch described as FDA-approved, advertised from $149/month; body creams described as compounded [Verified September 13, 2026, official product/formulary pages]
  • Trustpilot 4.6 across 7,802 reviews, claimed profile, no consumer alert [read directly from Trustpilot's __NEXT_DATA__ via headed patchright, 2026-08-03]
  • Full product price list (tablets $54, creams $89, patch $149, progesterone capsules $39, vaginal cream $89, DHEA $27/3-mo)
  • No testosterone on product page
  • Billing cycle is 28 days for a 30-day supply and 84 days for a 90-day supply, in Winona's own FAQ wording. That is 13.04 charges a year, not 12 [Verified August 2026]
  • Cancellation policy published: cancel any time in account settings, pause for 30, 60 or 90 days, full refund only inside a 24-hour order-processing window and nothing refundable after it [Verified August 2026]
  • Named clinicians with credentials: Michael Green MD, Chief Medical Officer; Cathleen M. Brown DO, Medical Director; prescribing physicians listed individually, all stated as board-certified [Verified August 2026]
  • State list: 37 states plus Puerto Rico, not 48 [Verified August 2026, states page]

Still resting on third-party reports

  • $0 consult / all-inclusive care claim (multiple third-party confirmations)
  • Founders, HQ and corporate entity, still undisclosed

We verify against the provider's own public pages without signing up. When a provider blocks crawlers or hides pricing behind intake, we say so. Not disclosed is a finding, and it feeds the Transparency Grade. Full methodology: editorial policy.

Why Transparency Grade B?

B

Transparency

Tap for the evidence

  • Every product priced publicly with no consult fee, the strongest pre-intake pricing transparency in the current set [Verified July 2026]
  • Deduction, and it is the one the price column cannot show: the billing cycle is 28 days, not a month. A 30-day supply bills every 28 days and a 90-day supply every 84, so the advertised per-month price is charged 13.04 times a year. Quoting a 28-day cycle as 'per month' is the mechanic this grade exists to name, and it costs a $54 tablet patient an extra $54.19 a year [Verified August 2026, FAQ]
  • Clinicians are now named with credentials: Michael Green MD as Chief Medical Officer, Cathleen M. Brown DO as Medical Director, and prescribing physicians listed individually. A criterion this record previously marked failed [Verified August 2026, physicians page]
  • Cancellation policy is now published: cancel any time in account settings, pause for 30, 60 or 90 days, with a 24-hour window to cancel an order for a full refund and nothing refundable after it. Also previously marked failed [Verified August 2026, FAQ]
  • Deduction: founders, HQ and corporate entity are still not disclosed anywhere reviewed, so corporate disclosure is partial rather than resolved [Verified August 2026, absence]
  • Text-only clinical relationship, with no video visits [Reported]
Read the scoring methodology →

Safety & legitimacy

The trust signals on Winona

Six signals we check on every HRTreview. “Not disclosed” is itself a finding. It feeds the Transparency Grade.

Prescriber type

Board-certified physicians, named individually with credentials, led by Michael Green MD as Chief Medical Officer and Cathleen M. Brown DO as Medical Director. All care is text-based, with no video visits [Verified August 2026, physicians page]

Lab work

Not required [Reported]

HIPAA disclosure

Not independently assessed this pass. Check the privacy policy before intake

Support channels

Not catalogued this pass

Cancellation

Cancel a subscription any time in account settings, or pause it for 30, 60 or 90 days. An individual order can be cancelled for a full refund only inside the 24-hour processing window; after that it cannot be cancelled, refunded or returned [Verified August 2026, FAQ]

Medication status

Mix of FDA-approved and compounded options

Is Winona legit? Read the full check →

What changes the full treatment bill?

Quick facts

Published entry price

$54 per 28 days

Consult fee

$0, product-only pricing [Verified July 2026]

States

37 states plus Puerto Rico, counted off Winona's own states page. The 48-state figure this record carried until 2026-08-16 was third-party and is 11 states too generous [Verified August 2026]

Insurance

Not accepted (cash pay)

Shipping

Free, included [Reported]

Cancellation

Cancel a subscription any time in account settings, or pause it for 30, 60 or 90 days. An individual order can be cancelled for a full refund only inside the 24-hour processing window; after that it cannot be cancelled, refunded or returned [Verified August 2026, FAQ]

The math

How much Winona costs per month, and over the first year

Winona bills every 28 days, not monthly, so a year holds 13.04 charges rather than 12. Estrogen Body Cream with Progesterone at $89 per cycle x 13.04 = $1,160.56, all-inclusive (consults, follow-ups, shipping included). Cheapest-entry route: estrogen tablets at $54 x 13.04 = $704.16. Counting Winona at 12 charges a year understated its annualized cost by more than one cycle, which is where the $1,068 this record carried until 2026-08-16 came from [Verified August 2026].

ProviderEntryYear-1 est.ScoreTransparency
Winona (reviewed)$54 per 28 days$1,1618.4/10B
Gala Health$69/mo$8287.2/10C
Sesame Care$99 per visit + medicationn/a7.6/10B
Hone Health$155/mo + medicationn/a7.5/10C

Year-1 totals are our documented estimates from pricing as of September 13, 2026; each provider's assumption set is on its review page. Insurance, HSA/FSA, and promo pricing excluded. “n/a” means no defensible estimate exists yet. Full price breakdown: what HRT really costs.

What is our full verdict on Winona?

Cash-pay menopause HRT with an FDA-approved estradiol patch and compounded formulations. Published product prices include care and shipping. Estrogen tablets from $54 per 28 days, creams from $89 per 28 days, progesterone capsules from $39 per 28 days. Consults, unlimited follow-ups, 24/7 doctor messaging, and shipping are all included. All care is text-based; there are no video visits.

Screenshot of the Winona homepage, captured August 27, 2026Winona logo
Their own homepage, captured August 27, 2026.

Where it wins

  • True $0 consult, product-only pricing with care and shipping included [Verified July 2026, bywinona.com/product]
  • Full product menu priced publicly: estrogen tablets from $54 per 28 days, estrogen body cream $89 per 28 days, estrogen+progesterone dual cream $89 per 28 days, patch $149 per 28 days, progesterone capsules $39 per 28 days, vaginal estrogen cream $89 per 28 days, DHEA $27/3-mo [Verified July 2026]
  • ~6,000 Trustpilot reviews at ~4.7/5, the largest HRT-specific review base in the set [Reported]
  • Responds to nearly all negative Trustpilot reviews, often within a day [Reported]
  • Unlimited follow-ups and 24/7 doctor messaging included [Reported]
  • Dual-active creams (estrogen + progesterone in one application)

Where it lags

  • Text-only care, no video visits, ever [Reported]
  • Compounded products are not FDA-approved as commercial drugs
  • No testosterone [Verified July 2026, absent from product page]
  • Bills every 28 days, not monthly, so a 30-day supply is charged 13.04 times a year rather than 12. That is one extra charge nobody budgets for [Verified August 2026, FAQ]
  • 37 states plus Puerto Rico, not the 48 this record carried until 2026-08-16 [Verified August 2026, states page]
  • Corporate transparency is still partial: physicians and the CMO are named, founders, HQ and corporate entity are not [Verified August 2026, absence noted]
  • Trustpilot complaint themes: subscription-cancellation confusion, order delays, side effects [Reported]
Our verdict

A useful option for product-based pricing with included consults and shipping. Estrogen tablets start at $54 per 28-day cycle; the FDA-approved patch starts at $149 per cycle. Compounded body creams remain a separate option. Compare the complete prescribed regimen and billing frequency, especially if progesterone is also prescribed.

Change log: what we've corrected on this review
  1. August 16, 2026Billing cycle corrected to 28 days, per Winona's own FAQ. Every other provider on this roster is measured at 12 charges a year and Winona was too, which left its first-year figure one full charge short of real: firstYearCostUSD 1068 to 1161 ($89 x 13.04 = $1,160.56). Prices themselves are unchanged. Three grade criteria moved on evidence: clinicians are now named with credentials, the cancellation policy is now published, and corporate disclosure is partially resolved (leadership yes, founders and HQ still no). State coverage corrected from 48 to 37 states plus Puerto Rico, 11 fewer than recorded. Transparency Grade left at B pending review, since three of its five criteria changed in the same pass. Score untouched; cost inputs moved, so recompute-scores is owed.
  2. May 12, 2026Initial verification: $119/mo entry, per-cycle billing noted.
  3. July 6, 2026Score 8.6 → 8.4. Entry price corrected $119 → $54/mo (estrogen tablets, verified on product page); full price menu added. Review base updated to ~6,000 Trustpilot at 4.7. Text-only care and zero corporate disclosure weighed against the verified $0-consult pricing (Transparency B).

What do customers report?

Real customer feedback

What reviewers say about Winona

Third-party signals only. We never write or source testimonials. “Not surfaced” means no public base was found in our verification pass.

Trustpilot

4.6/5

~7,802 reviews

View source →

BBB

Not surfaced

No public profile found

Reddit

Not surfaced

No substantive threads found

Provider claim

None disclosed

Our reading

Trustpilot 4.6/5 across 7,802 reviews, read directly from Trustpilot on 2026-08-03; claimed profile, no consumer alert. HRT-specific, not platform-inflated. Winona answers nearly all negative reviews, often within a day. Complaint themes: subscription-model confusion, order delays, side effects.

FAQ

Common questions about Winona

Is Winona legit?

Winona scores 8.4/10 on our weighted methodology and carries a Transparency Grade of B (A-F scale for what it discloses before intake). Trustpilot shows 4.6/5 across ~7,802 reviews. Flags we track: Bills every 28 days while quoting a monthly price, which is 13.04 charges a year, not 12 [Verified August 2026] Founders, HQ and corporate entity still not surfaced anywhere, though the clinicians now are [Verified August 2026, absence] Subscription-cancellation confusion in reviews [Reported] Facts last verified September 13, 2026.

How much does Winona cost?

Published entry pricing: $54 per 28 days. Consult fee: $0, product-only pricing [Verified July 2026]. Winona bills every 28 days, not monthly, so a year holds 13.04 charges rather than 12. Estrogen Body Cream with Progesterone at $89 per cycle x 13.04 = $1,160.56, all-inclusive (consults, follow-ups, shipping included). Cheapest-entry route: estrogen tablets at $54 x 13.04 = $704.16. Counting Winona at 12 charges a year understated its annualized cost by more than one cycle, which is where the $1,068 this record carried until 2026-08-16 came from [Verified August 2026].

Does Winona take insurance?

No. Winona is cash-pay, with published entry pricing of $54 per 28 days. It does not bill insurance for treatment.

How do I cancel Winona?

Winona's stated policy: Cancel a subscription any time in account settings, or pause it for 30, 60 or 90 days. An individual order can be cancelled for a full refund only inside the 24-hour processing window; after that it cannot be cancelled, refunded or returned [Verified August 2026, FAQ].

What medications does Winona offer?

As of our last check: Estrogen tablets (from $54 per 28 days); Estrogen body cream (from $89 per 28 days); Estrogen body cream with progesterone ($89 per 28 days); Estrogen patch (from $149 per 28 days); Progesterone capsules (from $39 per 28 days); Progesterone body cream ($89 per 28 days); Vaginal estrogen cream ($89 per 28 days); DHEA ($27 per 3-mo supply).

Is Winona available in my state?

37 states plus Puerto Rico, counted off Winona's own states page. The 48-state figure this record carried until 2026-08-16 was third-party and is 11 states too generous [Verified August 2026].

Does Winona require lab work?

Not required [Reported].

Who prescribes at Winona?

Board-certified physicians, named individually with credentials, led by Michael Green MD as Chief Medical Officer and Cathleen M. Brown DO as Medical Director. All care is text-based, with no video visits [Verified August 2026, physicians page].

What is Winona's Transparency Grade?

Winona earns a B on our A-F transparency scale, which grades what a provider discloses BEFORE intake: pricing, named clinicians with credentials, a published cancellation policy, corporate disclosure, and third-party review accessibility. Key evidence: Every product priced publicly with no consult fee, the strongest pre-intake pricing transparency in the current set [Verified July 2026] Deduction, and it is the one the price column cannot show: the billing cycle is 28 days, not a month. A 30-day supply bills every 28 days and a 90-day supply every 84, so the advertised per-month price is charged 13.04 times a year. Quoting a 28-day cycle as 'per month' is the mechanic this grade exists to name, and it costs a $54 tablet patient an extra $54.19 a year [Verified August 2026, FAQ] Clinicians are now named with credentials: Michael Green MD as Chief Medical Officer, Cathleen M. Brown DO as Medical Director, and prescribing physicians listed individually. A criterion this record previously marked failed [Verified August 2026, physicians page] Cancellation policy is now published: cancel any time in account settings, pause for 30, 60 or 90 days, with a 24-hour window to cancel an order for a full refund and nothing refundable after it. Also previously marked failed [Verified August 2026, FAQ] Deduction: founders, HQ and corporate entity are still not disclosed anywhere reviewed, so corporate disclosure is partial rather than resolved [Verified August 2026, absence] Text-only clinical relationship, with no video visits [Reported]

Which providers should you compare?

Compare providers within the same treatment category. Shared providers show the price for that treatment.

Pick providers

4 of 4 selected (up to 4 at a time)

Menopause HRTChoose providers within this treatment category

ProviderWinonaReview
8.4/10B
Sesame CareReview
7.6/10B
Hone HealthReview
7.5/10C
Gala HealthReview
7.2/10C
Starting price$54 per 28 days$99 per visit + medication$155/mo + medication$69/mo
Consultation fee$0, product-only pricing [Verified July 2026]About $99 to $125 per menopause video visit [Reported; not displayed in our July verification pass]. Exact clinician pricing is shown at booking; medication is separate. Optional Sesame Plus is $10.99/mo or $99/year with $10 off visits [Verified July 2026]. A separate reported menopause subscription price was not verified and is not used as our price anchor.Premium $65 initial test; Plus $45 initial test plus $45 or $80 confirmatory testing for TRT; consultations included [Verified September 8, 2026]Telehealth care included in the advertised HRT plan; no separate membership fee [Verified September 9, 2026]
InsuranceNo, cash payNo, cash payNo, cash payNo, cash pay
Formatscream, oral, patch, vaginaloral, patch, gel, vaginal, creaminjection, cream, oral, patch, gel, vaginaloral, patch, vaginal
ShippingFree, included [Reported]Prescriptions go to your own pharmacy; medication cost varies by pharmacy and insurance [Verified July 2026]Not disclosedFree, included; advertised delivery in 1–2 days [Verified September 9, 2026]
States37 states plus Puerto Rico, counted off Winona's own states page. The 48-state figure this record carried until 2026-08-16 was third-party and is 11 states too generous [Verified August 2026]All 50 states [Reported]Plan-specific US coverage. Women's Premium: AL, AZ, CA, CO, FL, GA, IL, IN, IA, KY, MD, MA, MI, MS, MO, MT, NE, NV, NM, NC, NY, OH, OK, OR, TN, TX, UT, VT, VA, WA, WV, WI, WY. Men's Plus and Premium have different lists; consult the linked official availability page [Verified September 8, 2026]Most US states; eligibility is confirmed during assessment. Gala says an unsupported state will not be charged, but publishes no complete list on this landing [Verified September 9, 2026]
Transparency gradeBBCC
Go to siteGet started with WinonaGet started with Sesame CareGet started with Hone HealthGet started with Gala Health

Prices and facts use the verification dates shown in each provider review. Confirm current terms on the provider’s site. Items shown as “Not disclosed” or “Not published” are honest empty states, not omissions. Affiliate partners are marked; partnership never moves a score or a rank.

Head to head

How Winona stacks up

This review is educational, not medical advice. Talk to a licensed clinician before starting, stopping or changing hormone therapy.